The DOG is an official EyeSustain Member Society and is committed to making ophthalmic care and surgery more sustainable. EyeSustain currently has 40 global ophthalmology organisations that have formally joined as EyeSustain Member Societies. EyeSustain is co-sponsored by 3 lead societies: The American Society of Opthalmology (AAO), The European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS) und The American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) will cover the ongoing costs of maintaining website and app.

Mission, Goals, Tasks

  • Engage, network, and educate our global ophthalmic community about more sustainable practices
  • Collaborate with industry to reduce our carbon footprint and surgical waste
  • Support research and innovative solutions that reduce ophthalmology’s environmental impact
  • Collaborate with other medical specialties to reduce the carbon footprint of our healthcare system
  • Support advocacy and education about the public health impact of climate change

Objective for each member society

Each society has pledged to educate, advocate, and collaborate to advance sustainability of quality eye care and surgery. Each member society should designate two ESGC representatives, incorporate sustainability into educational activities, consider forming a sustainability committee, and promote the EyeSustain website and app to its membership. They are supposed to encourage members to get their own surgical facility or department to take the EyeSustain facility pledge.